The one where I list the books that changed my life…

Anyone that knows me, knows that I am a veracious reader.  I am always the girl with a book in her hand. It can be an academic book or the latest book in the Divergent series.  My favorite way to spend my time is with a large cup of coffee and a large book  Don’t get me wrong, I love Netflix just as much as the next college student, but books are responsible for making me into the person I am.  All that being said, I decided to list out the top 10 books that inspired me.  It’s a difficult task to mull down the thing you love most, but I think I’m up to the challenge.

  1. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee: This book is a must read for any functioning member of the human race! It encompasses human empathy and the importance of doing what is right when everything else is wrong.
  2. A Tree Grow In Brooklyn by Betty Smith: I LOVE THIS BOOK! When reading it I felt like I was Francie.  She is a girl trying to take on the world, who just happens to love reading.
  3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald: I am obsessed with the Roaring 20s and no one does the Roaring 20s better than F. Scott Fitzgerald.  This book is perfect and anyone with a pulse should read it.
  4. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien: This is the book that influenced my career path.  This book engulfs the reader into the terrors of the Vietnam War, all the while expressing raw human emotion.
  5. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling: The series is the best series in the entire world. It is so important for people to enter into a world of magic.  Reality can be pretty overwhelming sometimes and Hogwarts is always there to welcome you home.
  6. Valley of the Dolls by Jacqueline Susann: This book is the ultimate beach read! It has everything to you need drugs, sex, alcohol, and backstabbing.  This book is a roller coaster ride into the 1960s, and it’s one that I never wanted to end.
  7. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn: I am obsessed with Gillian Flynn.  Her writing is absolutely amazing and always keeps you up at night.  Amy Dunne is the ultimate character and her “Cool Girl” monologue is the perfect description of what life is like for millennial girls.
  8. Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls: This is where my true love for reading began.  I remember getting this book at my Scholastic Book Fair.  I remember staying up past my bed time to finish reading this beautiful coming of age novel. Also there are dogs in the book and I’m a sucker for dogs.
  9. Jesus > Religion by Jefferson Bethke: This book is perfect for anyone that is feeling lost in their Christianity.  Last year I was experiencing a slump in my personal life. I wanted to change something, so I started with my relationship with God.  After reading this I felt like a new person and have been rebuilding my relationship with God ever since.
  10. Wild by Cheryl Strayed: I read this book over my Summer vacation. It completely calmed me.  I was, and still am, feeling some despair about the end of college.  I am constantly wondering if I am making the right choice about my future.  This book told me that it’s okay to not know all the answers and just live your life.

xoxo, Alaina

Leave a Reply

